National Leadership Academy for the Public's Health

The National Leadership Academy for the Public’s Health (NLAPH) began in 2011 to provide training to four-person multi-sector teams from across the country to advance their leadership skills and achieve health equity in their community. Funded by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the one-year program uses an experiential learning process that includes webinars, a multi-day retreat, coaching support, peer networking, and an applied population health project. NLAPH is currently training its fourth cohort of fellows. Look here for NLAPH Cohort 4's Team Summaries and Map to learn more about our new fellows. To learn more about NLAPH and how CHLP works, watch this short video

CULMINATING TEAM PROJECTS: Throughout the program year, each team has reached major milestones and achieved success in their growth as leaders. As part of our end year closure, all teams have the opportunity to share with the entire CHLP community their reflections on their leadership development and their journey working together through their Culminating Team Report. Click here to see samples of our outstanding team efforts. 

Ebola Preparedness Leadership Program Recruitment

NLAPH's Cohort 5 (2016) Ebola Preparedness segment will be accepting applications in the coming weeks from teams wishing to participate in NLAPH. Read more about the program here. If you are interested in applying or have questions, please contact us at


Congratulations, NLAPH Cohort 5: GHWIC Leadership Program Fellows!

Congratulations to the CDC’s Good Health and Wellness in Indian Country (GHWIC) Component 1 grantees who will participate in NLAPH as part of Cohort 5 (2016)! The fifth cohort of the National Leadership Academy for the Public's Health includes five teams representing: Ketchikan Indian Community (Alaska); The Kickapoo Tribe (Kansas); The Navajo Nation (Arizona); The Red Cliff Band of Lake Superior Chippewa (Wisconsin); and Yellowhawk Tribal Health Center (Oregon). Teams will advance their leadership skills collaboratively to transcend boundaries and transform communities. Welcome, Cohort 5 Fellows!

Where We Work

See a list of all teams by state

Map of the United States

"We're living it, but if not for NLAPH getting us to sit down and talk about things strategically, we wouldn't be doing it. It's been huge. If it wasn't for NLAPH, none of this - none of this - would be happening." - NLAPH Fellow

CaliforniaAlaskaOregonWashingtonNevadaIdahoUtahHawaiiArizonaMontanaWyomingColoradoNew MexicoNorth DakotaSouth DakotaNebraskaKansasOklahomaTexasLouisianaMinnesotaIowaMissouriArkansasMichiganWisconsinIllinoisIndianaOhioKentuckyTennesseeMississippiAlabamaFloridaGeorgiaNorth CarolinaSouth CarolinaVirginiaWashington DCPennsylvaniaNew YorkVermontNew HampshireMaineMassachusettsRhode IslandConnecticutMarylandNew JerseyDelawareWest Virginia